EPA Adds Seven PFAS to Toxics Reporting Inventory (TRI)

In the May 17th Federal Register, EPA published a final rule adding seven per- and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) to the Toxics Release Inventory, beginning with the 2024 reporting year. The seven PFAS are:

  • Perfluorohexanoic acid (PFHxA)
  • Perfluoropropanoic acie (PFPrA)
  • Sodium perfluorohexanoate
  • Ammonium perfluorohexanoate
  • 1,1,1-TriFluoro-N[(trifluoromethyl)sulfonyl]methanesulfonamide (TFSI)
  • Lithium bis[(trifluoromethyl)sulfonyl] azanide
  • Betaines, dimethyl(.gamma.-.omega.-perfluoro-.gamma.hydro-C8-18-alkyl)

This rulemaking was a little unique in that the rulemaking was mandated by the National Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2020 (FY 2020 NDAA) which made the typical notice and comment process unnecessary.