Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) Regulatory Development Process

SDWA Regulatory Development Process Overview

The 1996 Amendments to the Safe Drinking Water Act (SDWA) provided a step-by-step framework for both the development of new drinking water regulations and the review of all existing regulations. The development of a new regulation follows a multi-step process, with each step on five-year cycles:

                  1. Contaminant Candidate List (CCL)
                  2. Regulatory Determination (RegDet)
                  3. Regulation/National Primary Drinking Water Regulation (NPDWR)

The process diagram to the left shows how these steps fit together, along with the Unregulated Contaminant Monitoring Rule (UCMR). Opportunities in the process for public input and comment are marked with an asterisk. A separate but related regulatory effort is the review of all existing regulations every six years (Six-Year Review) that evaluates new data to assess whether a regulation needs to be revised.

SDWA Regulatory Development Process Fact Sheet 

Download a PDF-version of this webpage.