FEMA Calls for 2013 Individual and Community Preparedness Awards Submissions

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recently announced that the application period for the 2013 Individual and Community Preparedness Awards is now open.  These awards recognize outstanding individuals, organizations, Citizen Corps Councils and programs working to make our communities safer, stronger and better prepared for any disaster or emergency event. Submissions will be accepted April 22 through June 5, 2013.

To be considered for this year’s Awards, all submissions must be received by June 5, 2013 and are required to feature program activities taking place during the period of January 1, 2012 through June 5, 2013. FEMA will review all entries and select the finalists. A distinguished panel of judges from the emergency management industry will select a winner in each of the following categories:

  • Outstanding State Citizen Corps Council Initiatives
  • Outstanding Local Citizen Corps Council Initiatives
  • Outstanding Community Emergency Response Team Initiatives
  • Outstanding Achievement in Youth Preparedness
  • Preparing the Whole Community
  • Awareness to Action
  • Community Preparedness Heroes

Winners of the 2013 FEMA Individual and Community Preparedness Awards will be announced in Fall 2013.  Whether it is an individual or a faith-based, non-profit, private sector, community-based, or tribal organization – everyone makes a difference in our community. Acknowledge the work you or someone you know has done to build a more resilient nation and submit an application.  Visit the following website for information on the Awards and to download instructions for submitting an application: www.ready.gov/citizen-corps-awards.