Senate Appropriations and EPW Both Name New Members

With the shift in Majority representation from Democrat to Republican, we are seeing the first of many changes in Committee assignments in the Senate.

The Republican leadership has already announced that four newly-elected Republican freshmen will have a coveted Appropriations Committee seat.  Shelley Moore Capito (WV), Bill Cassidy (LA), Steve Daines (MT), and James Lankford (OK) are all new to the Senate but are experienced legislators having previously served in the House.   The full Committee is expected to name Senator Thad Cochran (R-MS) as chairman and Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) expects to retain his seat as a panel member but not a subcommittee chair.  Senate Democrats have also offered Appropriations Committee assignments to veteran Senators Tammy Baldwin (WI), Christopher Murphy (CT), and Brian Schatz (HI).

On the Environment & Public Works Committee, incoming Chairman James Inhofe (R-OK), has also tapped Capito to join that Committee.  She will be joined by two other Senate newcomers – Mike Rounds (SD) and Dan Sullivan (AK).