GOP Approves Pruitt without Dems

In a not entirely surprising move, the Democrats on the Senate Environment & Public Works (EPW) Committee refused to attend the Committee’s business meeting earlier this week where the nomination of proposed EPA Administrator Scott Pruitt was to be voted on.
Per Committee rules, at least two minority members must be present to achieve quorum.  Committee Chair, John Barrasso (R-WY) called the Wednesday boycott “a disappointing turn of events.”  Barrasso tried again on Thursday to move forward with Pruitt’s nomination but the Democrats still refused to attend the Committee meeting.  Barrasso took the unusual step of consulting with the Senate parliamentarian to determine the appropriate process to suspend the rules and approve Pruitt’s nomination.  The Committee did so on Thursday afternoon with votes solely from Committee Republicans.  The nomination now moves to the Senate Floor where final confirmation is likely very soon.