Senate Confirms Head of CEQ and Another EPA Assistant Administrator

During the last few hours of the 115th Congress on January 2nd, the Senate approved Mary Neumayr to lead the White House Council on Environmental Quality (CEQ). CEQ oversees the implementation of the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA). In addition to NEPA implementation, CEQ also develops and recommends national policies to the President that promote the improvement of environmental quality and meet environmental goals. Neumayr has been serving as Chief of Staff at CEQ for nearly two years. She has previous experience working for the House Energy and Commerce Committee, the U.S. Department of Energy, and the U.S. Department of Justice.

The Senate also confirmed former Executive Director of the Environmental Council of States (ECOS) Alexandra (Alex) Dapolito Dunn as Assistant Administrator of EPA’s Office of Chemical Safety and Pollution Prevention (OCSPP). She will leave her position as Regional Administrator for EPA Region 1 to head the chemicals office.