Conference Committee Formed to Avoid Another Shutdown

A select number of House and Senate members, chiefly from the Appropriations Committees, have been tapped to try and find a path forward that will avoid the next shutdown window opens at midnight on February 16.  This Conference Committee will hold its first meeting on Wednesday, January 29.

Conferees, by chamber are:

SENATE Republicans

Richard Shelby, AL Shelly Moore Capito, WV

Shelly Moore Capito, WV

John Hoeven, ND

Roy Blunt, MO


SENATE Democrats

Pat Leahy, VT

Dick Durbin, IL

Jon Tester, MT


HOUSE Democrats

Nita Lowey, NY

Lucille Roybal-Allard, CA

David Price, NC

Barbara Lee, CA

Henry Cuellar, TX

Pete Aguilar, CA


HOUSE Republicans

Kay Granger, TX

Chuck Fleischmann, TN

Tom Graves, GA

Steven Palazzo, MS


In total, that equals nine Democrats and eight Republicans.