Michigan Sets Drinking Water Standards for Seven PFAS

Michigan has announced the adoption of drinking water standards for seven PFAS that will become effective on August 3rd. The Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE), Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), and other state agencies that comprise the Michigan PFAS Action Response Team (MPART) conducted a year-long review of current PFAS scientific and health data and consulted with stakeholders to develop the standards. The new standards set drinking water Maximum Contaminant Levels (MCLs) that will cover approximately 2,700 public water supplies throughout the state and are in parts per trillion (ppt) as follows:

  • PFNA – 6 ppt
  • PFOA – 8 ppt
  • PFHxA – 400,000 ppt
  • PFOS – 16 ppt
  • PFHxS – 51 ppt
  • PFBS – 420 ppt
  • HFPO-DA – 370 ppt

These new standards also change Michigan’s existing groundwater clean-up criteria of 70 ppt for PFOS and PFOA to 8 ppt for PFOA and 16 ppt for PFOS, and will result in 42 new sites being added into MPART’s list of ongoing PFAS investigations. Additional investigations may be undertaken near 30 public water systems that had total PFAS results of 10 ppt or higher during the 2018 statewide sampling program and ongoing surveys. MPART will post the summaries of the new sites on its website and schedule a series of regional webinars to provide more information in the near future. For more information, read the press release and visit the MPART website at Michigan.gov/PFASResponse.