Senate Minority Leadership Confirmed; GOP Maintains Status Quo

For those who keep track of such things, Senate Democrats have confirmed their leadership posts for the 115th Congress.  As expected, Chuck Schumer (NY) will step into Harry Reid’s Senate Minority Leader position now that Reid has retired (effective at the end of the current Congress).  The Minority Whip post will be kept by Dick Durbin (IL) and Patty Murray (WA) takes on the number three position by becoming Assistant Minority Leader.  Debbie Stabenow (MI) is the new Chair of the Democratic Policy & Communications Committee; the internal communications vehicle for the party.
Across the aisle, the Republicans continue their support for current Majority Leader, Mitch McConnell (KY) and Majority Whip John Cornyn.  The GOP does not have both a Whip and Assistant Leader since the two positions, essentially, serve the same purpose.  The Democrats chose to appoint members under each title to avoid an internal battle for the Whip’s position.